The Monk who sold his IPhone


Having almost mental breakdowns due to my accelerated lifestyle had become common. Often my level of frustration escalated to the point of wanting to shut any point of contact with the outside world.

The feeling to run away from the hustle bustle started recurring in my mind. But to think of it, it’s not possible to avert responsibilities and work and retreat every now and then.
I often looked for options around my city where I could just go and be. But most options seemed distant and induced a feeling that I’m going to the Himalayas. 

Meditation and peace must be natural, effortless rather. And often the structured ashrams around the city didn’t fall in this style. 

Naturally they didn’t appeal to me. I anyway avoid structures in day to day life, my style of work is flexible and free flowing, so how could i possibly enjoy structured meditation or any extreme practice.

I’ve longed for something around my city, that could satiate my longing for uncontrolled peace.

A place that allowed me to surrender to it and the place itself surrendered to me. A union with an atmosphere that felt like my own comfort zone. A set up that reflected various aspects of my seeking or the need to just be.

 An uncontrolled yet organised place that was sensitised to a real person’s need. Where no force or schedule had to be gulped forcibly.

 We have centres that are typical to a particular practice, but none that really allowed an individual to find his inner sense of being and rejuvenate through a feeling of self worth. The seeking and finding of the true self.

A place where every possible way of stress relief is demonstrated and the onus of choosing what appeals to me, stays with me. 

A place that i could go to recharge every now and then, without the guilt of running away from a situation. Some place where a piece of me could be left and found every time I visited.

This seeking for a place outside, enlightened the fact, that I need to create a little space within myself where I could retreat on a personal level. 

Maybe a day of digital detox, a few hours of silence,painting, reading, doing literally nothing, a long walk or drive alone, music, dance, etc. which may have slow yet significant effects.

We are living in a world of constant connection with everything but ourselves. 

And majorly, the issues we face with making decisions and dealing with problems, boils down to this connection or disconnection rather. 

No one can really tell you how to truly be at peace, it’s an intrinsic knowing. Being peaceful is our natural state of being, we need to work back into our core. Peace cannot be bought, it has to be achieved. 

And it may not always be a comfortable or estimated process. Different people grow at a different pace on varied levels. 

I experienced an improved sense of well being by being utterly comfortable in solitude. Once you master the art of being content with your own company, problems don’t seem to be massive, your reactions are controlled and there is a renewed sense of self awareness.

Not a permanent stop to things, but a pause every now and then in a life where we are constantly doing something can be helpful. This solitude could help you perceive your own preferences for a better life. Eventually we’re all struggling towards happiness, contentment and peace, and the only way out is in. 

Have a great week ahead and maybe get some time for yourself.

Leave a comment