The Birthday Scare


What an intense time of the year! The Supermoon, the US elections, the drastic changes in the Indian economy, people and their emotions are running helter-skelter. Frustration, stress and displeasure have bejewelled the human mind.

I celebrated my birthday last week, so it’s been a super exciting and energetically intense week for me. All the ruffled energies are slowly getting back on track.

Human emotions are like waves. Sometimes people are more vulnerable to stress, and reactions get slightly rockier. 

My constant attention is dangling between how not to hurt anyone by an impulsive reactions and also get my point across. 

I’m sure all of us experience a phase in our lives when we feel that solitude and being cut off for a while is the need of the hour. And spending quality time alone, periodically, can work wonders to process our thoughts and is emotionally liberating.

I’m high on personal space but not that I’m unsocial. In fact I’m pretty amicable and outgoing otherwise, though I thrive on ‘me’ time. 

A little time to review everything you feel within is one of the best ways you can rewind. Though the change seems to be slightly disturbing at first, it’s the precursor to great inner peace.

I interpreted a few things when I got some time off this time, and I’d like to share that with you. 

The worst thing that you can do to yourself is to constantly supply your energy to someone who doesn’t appreciate it. It’s absolutely draining and can not only affect your self esteem but also impact your physical health.

On the flip side, this doesn’t mean we doubt everyone who’s genuinely keen on making an effort in our lives, due to our negative past experiences.

We are conditioned to have the false impression that we owe a certain kind of behaviour to people around us just because they are our partners, families or friends. Being kind and affable is great, but that should not come at a price where people are overstepping your personal boundaries. 

The negativity associated with the word ‘NO’ is another problem. You need to get more friendly with this word and make it clear when certain things are not matching your beliefs and standards without having to worry about people making a big deal out of it. 

I also fail to understand why doesn’t a ‘No’ just mean a simple ‘No’ and not that you’re supposed to convince me.

 I automatically felt better when I started refusing to meetings or gatherings that I didn’t wish to be part of and no it’s not being ‘selfish’. 

The root of most problematic relations is seeded in trying too hard to please others. This again stems from a belief that we’re born to be ‘people pleasers’ and create peace. 

We need to break free from this misconstrued notion and realise that unless we’re at peace with our decisions ourselves we can’t really bring peace to anything around us, no matter how much effort you put in it. 

Sometimes all you need is a while to tune into yourself. How long has it been since you’ve actually tried to decipher what you’re actually feeling about your life and relations around you? 

How many relations are you dragging along that probably died a long time ago? How long has it been since you’ve done something that made you feel completely at peace with your decision ? If the span ranges from anything more than six months, you need to seriously review your life. 

Let go of everything that no longer serves you. Forgive those who have wronged you. Start by refusing to small things that you do not appeal to you and then make the greater changes. 

Let go of the belief that you need to be something and just be! It’s easier to move forward  in life when you get rid of the burden of expectations, anger, and approval.

We’re heading towards the end of the year, let’s get rid all old self sabotaging patterns and move into a brighter 2017!

Good luck with the changes, let me know of your journey in the comments section.

Leave a comment